Monthly Archives: March 2014

Craig Taylor Singles 2014

22 Members played during the afternoon in 2 sections to the Schenkel System.  Games of 3 ends and 3 stones each per end, moved along quickly with lunch of soup and sandwiches available.  The final was a close game between Alex Harvey and Daniel Cowan with Alex the victor.  Mrs Taylor presented the Trophy.  Many of our newer curlers played and found the experience of playing singles an enjoyable challenge.  As do most of us!

Club League 2013/14

The league ran throughout the season; with all our matches now played the winning team is Jim Sellar (skip), David Bain, Russell Shanks and Stuart Brown (who substituted Jimmy Smith).   The team was presented with their trophy by Mrs Taylor.

Paralympic Bronze Medal

Congratulations to the team for winning a Bronze Medal.  The team skipped by Aileen Neilsen was Gregor Euan, Jim Gault, Robert McPherson and Angie Malone – we watched every game with all the highs and lows and a few tears too!  Well done, you are great ambassadors of the sport of wheelchair curling.

Scottish Wheelchair Curling Championships 2014

With the paralympic team away this years competition was wide open and every game was hard fought by eight teams from across the country. Several of the players were competing in their first Championship.

It was an all SLWCC final this year with two teams from our club fighting it out.  The team of Alex Harvey, Eddie Fleming, David Bain and David Telfer versus Rosemary Lenton, Bill Masterton, David Wightman and Jim Sellar.  Alex and his newly formed team triumphed over the experienced team lead by Rosemary.  Congratulations to Alex and his team.  Alex made the comment that it was 11 years since he last held the trophy!

Another team from South Lanarkshire Paul Webster, Gordon Rainey, John Doyle and Angela Higson failed to beat off the team of Neil Hogg, Daniel Cowan, Marie Duncan, and Leslie (from Kinross) for 3rd place.


South Lanarkshire Disability Sports Award

On 20 February 2014 South Lanarkshire Wheelchair Curling Club was awarded CLUB OF THE YEAR by South Lanarkshire Disability Sports at a lunch attended by various disability sports clubs and individuals including some of our members.  The award was collected on behalf of the club by the 2013 British Open winning team (all members of SLWCC) Paul Webster, Gordon Rainey, John Doyle (absent) and Angela Higson.  The Award was given in recognition of our club’s acheivements over the years to promote and encourage members into the sport of wheelchair curling. 

At the same ceremony club member ROBERT MCPHERSON received an individual award  of Adult Sports Person of the Year.  Robert is now in the parapympic squad and is representing Great Britain at Sochi this March.