Tunnocks Trophy 2018

Our annual competition sponsored by Tunnocks Foods once again rounded off the curling season.  Nine teams competed in a round robin competition over three days. This year two teams from Newcastle swept the board winning first and second place: Winners: Northern Ice 2 with Christine Warwick, Mick Walker, Jeff Ward and Paul McGinty.  Runners-up: Northern Ice 1 with Dave Melrose, Stephen McGarry,  Gary Logan an Stewart Pimblet.

Boyde Tunnock and Fergus Louden presented prizes to the winning teams at the dinner held on the last evening, which was also attended by the Provost, Mr Ian McAllan.  The event is always a success and is eagerly anticipated every year by wheelchair curlers across the country.  This was the 10th year that Tunnocks have supported us and in recognition of this, our club presented Boyde Tunnock with a picture depicting his life, hobbies and interests.  We appreciate the sponsorship as this competition helps to encourage wheelchair users into the sport of wheelchair curling.

Christmas Fun Bonspiel

Our Christmas lunch this year was preceded with a fun bonspiel. Members put on a good show with fancy hats and outfits to suit the occasion. Teams played each other in a friendly round robin with an twist…after each end but before scoring, envelopes were issued to teams which altered the normal scoring of the end eg all stones not in play get a point! Thus the bonspiel was completed in good spirit although I am not sure which team actually won! Lunch was a fine turkey or beef meal and was enjoyed by guests, volunteers and members.
Happy Christmas everyone and best wishes for 2018.

Bells Trophy 2017

Once again our season of competitions started with the Bells Trophy. The triples games were played over 5 weeks with the final played between Team Sellar; David Bain (Sub for David Morgan) and Stuart Brown Versus Team Donaldson; Alex Harvey (sub for Zoe McPartin) and Russell Shanks. Team Sellar were the winners of the Bells Trophy for 1917. Our presentation lunch was attended by Bells representatives Robert and Samantha (nee Bell) who presented the Trophy and medals to the teams then congratulated the club on organising the competition. We thank Bells Food Group for their continued support of our club and hope they will continue the sponsorship. The goodie bags are great too!

Route74 Bucket Collection

In September our sponsor Route74 organised an open day at their premises in Lesmahagow and we were invited to make a Bucket collection on the day to raise funds for the club. Moira Law, David and Caroline Bain, Stuart Brown, Martin Elliott and Jim Sellar attended and thanks to their efforts collect £153 for our club funds. Thanks to all concerned.

Tunnock’s Bonspiel 4/5/6 April 2017 – Hamilton Ice Rink

2017 Winners: Team Wightman with skip Rosemary Lenton, David Wightman, Gill Kill and Beatrice Kerr for South Lanarkshire Wheelchair Curling Club.  Runners Up: Team Pimblett  and 3rd : Team McGarry both teams for Newcastle.

10 teams played a round robin competition with 3 games per day.  The players from all round Scotland, Northern England and Wales played good curling in good humour throughout the three days.

As always the event was a great success with the wheelchair community and is the final competition of our season.  This is the ninth year of Tunnock’s terrific sponsorship. Their continued interest and loyalty is greatly appreciated.

Organising any competition requires considerable commitment to provide what was a seamless and enjoyable 3 days of curling.  Moira Law and Ian Donaldson worked hard to organise this annual event.  Thanks to all those that contributed, it is a long list and they know who they are. SLWCC is very grateful for all the help and support received.  We look forward to 2018.

Report:  Angela Higson   08/04/2017

Bells Trophy 2016

The Bells Trophy for 2016, which starts off our new season of curling, was a great success with eight teams fighting it out over 5 weeks.  The final was a close fought game between Team Bain  (David Bain, Jimmy Smith and Stuart Brown) and Team Donaldson (Ian Donaldson, Angela Higson and Russell Shanks) with Team Bain winning. Afterwards we all enjoyed the delights of Bells Pies and trophies were presented by Bells representative, with goodie bags distributed to all participants.

Much thanks to our sponspors, Bells Foods Ltd,  for their continued support of this competition.

Arthur Bell Obituary

It is with real sadness that I pass on the news of the death of Arthur Bell CBE, following a short illness.

Arthur was a long standing member of South Lanarkshire Wheelchair Curling Club.  During his time, he served as chairman of SLWCC.  After retiring from the committee, he remained very supportive of those who took over and was always a source of advice.  He was an extremely popular member of the club and would go out of his way to socialise with, and encourage, all members, new and old, seasoned or novice.

Arthur is a past Chairman of SWCA.  He carried his “inclusive” approach to his role as chairman.  Sometimes against the tide, he strived to ensure all members were regarded equally, irrespective of the level they played at.  The last time most of you will have seen him was at the SWCA AGM were he argued passionately that members of the Performance Squad should be encouraged to go back to their club sessions to pass on their skills and experience to the next generation of players.  It’s a real shame he didn’t get the chance to see it in action this season.

Arthur was one of the few people of whom, I can honestly say, I never heard a bad word said.  This is hardly surprising, given that he was a rare breed.  He was a genuine gentleman.

He will be missed.

Paul Webster SWCA Chairman

Bells Trophy 2015

The 2015 season has started with our opening competition of the Bells Trophy.  This year it was run as a triples competition over 5 weeks.  The final was held on Monday 2 November 2015 between Bill Masterton, David Telfer & Jim (Elvis) Smith v J Sellar, M Elliott & Michael Greaves MacKintosh.  The game was very close and went down to the last stone when Bill required to take a 4 in the last end to win.  Up by 3 his last stone was crucial – and yes he did succeed! Well done to team MASTERTON winners of the 2015 Bells Trophy.  Bill has now won this competition 3 times with his partner David.

The competition was particularly poignant this year reminding us of the recent death of our friend and fellow curler Arthur Bell.  Arthur was a great supporter of our club and was instrumental in starting this competition with sponsorship from Bells Foods Ltd.  We are greatly appreciative of their support and hope our association with them will continue.  Arthur will be greatly missed.

Bells Trophy 2014

This year the final was played by Rosemary Lenton and Russell Shanks against David Telfer and Gerald Pocock.  It turned into a battle royal and after four ends it was a draw and a fifth end was played.  The game was won on the last stone by Lenton and Shanks who were presented with the trophy (after everyone had eaten pies and sausage rolls provided by Bells).

Bells Food Group have continued sponsorship of this competition over a number of years and we are extremely grateful for their continued support and the lucky bags that they provide to all our members.